Volleyball block rules are established so players, teams and coaches compete fairly in their quest to win a match.
This page is written to provide you with important information that should help you improve your defensive skills in volleyball.
MATCH. DAY. IS. HERE.— Gators Volleyball (@GatorsVB) December 8, 2017
O'Dome at 4 PM. Sweet 16. See you all there ✊ pic.twitter.com/A8aIR1mQPp
Blocking is the first line of defense.
1. You can jump and place your arms, hands and shoulders over the net to stop a hitter or setter from attacking the ball into your court. But...
2. While blocking, your feet may come in contact with the centerline also known as the halfcourt line. But...
3. While your team is on defense you can block any attacked ball but...
4. While on defense in the front row, you can come off the court on the opposing team's side to retrieve a ball back into your court but...
This usually occurs when a blocker steps over the center line and for some reason, often in transition, lands and steps outside of the sideline (but into the free zone) of the opponent's court.
Because the free zone is considered the playing area of the court, this is legal and one of the few times a player is permitted to step across the center court line during a rally.
5. The only time your team can touch a ball four times in a rally and still keep playing without having committed a fault or a foul is when...
Then your team, which is now "on offense" still has three more opportunities (a dig, a set and an attack) to play the ball.
Let's say you are blocking a hitter and the hitter's ball goes between your two hands because they were too wide and so you didnt stop the ball at the net.
When and if the ball continues into the back row and one of your teammates digs the ball, then the dig is the first of the three contacts that your team is allowed to have to get the ball back over the net in an attempt to score against the opposing team.
Your block touch or block contact on the ball is not counted in the total touches allowed per team in a rally and since you didnt actually "block" the ball the rally can continue, as if you didnt touch the ball.
As long as the ball continues, into your court, or even outside of your court BUT is played by a teammate, then three more contacts are allowed for your team.
6. When blocking, can you touch the ball twice?
There is an instance when blocking in volleyball when a player can touch the ball twice. It doesn't happen often, but it does happen.
Check out these two possible examples that happen in competition.
When a front row player is blocking and their blocking hands don't penetrate to the other side of the net, the ball is likely to trickle down on their side between their body and the net.
If they can get their blocking hands down fast enough to connect them together to dig or pass the ball, without lifting the ball, then their team is allowed two more contacts, as long as they get the ball over the net on the second contact, they are okay.
Here's another example.
If the blocker touches the ball as a block and then contacts it again as an underhand contact, her team has two more contacts to get the ball over the net to possibly score a point.
This action happens fast and if you don't know the rules, if you
attempt to block a ball that ends up dribbling down in front of you, on
your side, you may end up catching it because you don't realize that you
can keep the ball in play by contacting it again as long as its a passing playing action.
That could cost you an
important point if you are unfamiliar with the volleyball game rules.
There are three major things you can't do when you're blocking in volleyball.
No. One of the common faults committed by beginner players is trying to block the setter. Volleyball block rules prevent you from blocking an opposing team's setter who's attempting to set a ball.
Can you block a serve?
The ball has to be allowed to enter into the opposing team's court before the rally can begin.
Can the libero block a ball?
Can backrow players block a ball?
If you block a ball and it bounces out of bounds on your side or the opponent's side or without one of your diggers getting the ball up then its not a point for your team.
With rally scoring, where a point is rewarded for every successful winning play, that would be a point for the opposing team because you were the last person to touch the ball before it hit the ground (In this case, out of bounds or in your own court.)
12. If you block a ball and it then hits the antenna before hitting the ground, then the ball is considered out of bounds and both the ball and a point is awarded to the opposing team.
We know where you need to go now! Here are three options:
Follow me on Instagram @coach_apchap to improve your game even faster!